Injury Bug

After a nice Spring Break, I am back to blogging about the sport I love. Although I have not made an announcement or included it in my blogs up until this point, I don’t think it is any secret that my loyalty and heart lay with the Pittsburgh Penguins. In making this confession, I feel my readers will have a better understanding of my thought process as well as the posts I have made and the ones I will make in the future, including this one.

The time of the season has come where the Penguins have been hit with the injury bug, hard. In the past few weeks it has seemed that my NHL app has been breaking the news of another Penguin injury non stop. The latest blow being that Carl Hagelin will be out of action for at least four weeks following a lower body injury.

With the likes of Kris Letang, Hagelin, Patric Hornqvist Olli Maatta, Trevor Daley, Matt Cullen and Bryan Rust, all being sidelined with their own injuries, this seems to be the worst time of the season for this many players to be out.

Although the healthy players have found their ways to win in recent games, who knows how long that can last. All the players listed are key players who eat up significant playing times. With other players having to step up in their absence, more players may be joining them on the IR.

With it being so close to playoffs, teams don’t release the official injury report as a tactic to protect their players when they return to the lineup. But until their return fans are stuck waiting and wondering when their favorite players will make their comeback.

All I can really say on the matter is someone in Pittsburgh needs to go to the rink and bubble wrap Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin, and Matt Murray before its too late.

 

One thought on “Injury Bug

Leave a Reply

